Adult braces · Blogger · Dentist · Orthodontist · Teeth · Uncategorized

Adult braces- the first tightening 

So today I wasn’t as nervous as I thought I would be until about an hour before the appointment, I guess I have being busy at work to thank for that. Sitting in the waiting room I saw the same nice dental nurse take a woman upstairs for her appointment that I had when I had my braces fitted. This calmed me slightly as she really couldn’t have been nicer at explaining the whole process to me when I was slightly emotional at my new look. 10 minutes later she came and collected me, Scott was with me today because he had a day off and plus he likes to see how it all works, I guess it’s interesting when it’s not happening to you 😉  After apologising for leaving in a bit of a state last time, which they were all so nice about, we got down to business. 

First some wires were cut off in little pieces and dropped on the tray and then the main wire came out on the top. As soon as she started attaching the new wire I could feel the tightening, I was immediately remembering the previous appointment and the pain that came after and just thought ‘oh god here we go again!” Each section was tightened and reattached to each individual bracket, cue repeating the process on the bottom teeth and we were done! 

Well I say done, as I sat up I asked if my lower front tooth was included in the braces wire this time as this is where I have to place wax every night to stop it cutting my mouth to pieces. (I’m not just talking a tiny cute little ball of wax either, no I look more like a rugby player with a gum shield on! Good job I’m already married because this process is not attractive at the best of times!) So my orthodontist stops the chair from moving up and tells me there is a rubber coating you can have fitted to the wire to stop it cutting your cheeks so much and that shouldn’t be happening so before I know it back down I go and on it pops! It really doesn’t look great but it’s only on a very small section at the bottom and I’m hoping next time I will be able to have it off.  That particular tooth can’t be included in the wires just yet as there isn’t a big enough space for it apparently. 

So now I’m home and I attempted some soft food, ran my tongue round the edge of my mouth and oww there is a sharp piece of wire right at the back of my mouth which cut my tongue! Out come the nail clippers and I try to cut it off but it’s not budging so I will just have to try and avoid it from now on! 

One thing I am pleased about is my white wire is back along the top ☺ with all the brushing the coating had come off to leave it silver but it looks so much nicer white so that makes me happy. Now I’m just waiting to see when this tender feeling will wear off whenever I bite down again. I’m currently cooking the most delicious looking chicken dinner so fingers crossed I can eat it ok!

Here is a progress picture from day 1 until today with my first tightening at almost 3 months in.

Thanks for reading I will keep you updated! 
Lou xx

3 thoughts on “Adult braces- the first tightening 

  1. Lou, I’m so glad you found my post on braces and shared your journey with me. Yes, I see this photo of you and you are beautiful! Braces are just a small step to the future. I get mine on in a few weeks and promise to share a photo of myself with the metal. I did have braces as a child so I know I’ll remember what it’s like. Hang in there, hopefully your journey isn’t too long. Looks like mine will be about a year. Does you ortho have an accelerator mouthgard that vibrates to stimulate bone growth? We do and I’ll definitely be doing that!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I think I have about 2 years in total so I’m 5 months down now and mostly positive about it all! This last tightening was a real tough one though with my teeth still hurting today 3 days later! No I’ve not heard of that, is it something you wear at night? I’ll look forward to seeing your pictures when you get yours fitted!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

