cockerpoo · exercise · fitness · Peak District · Sunshine · Uncategorized · walking

17.23 miles in a week of beautiful walks

I would never have believed you if you had told me I could walk over 17 miles in a week and actually enjoy it! It sounds so far but it was helped by the bank holiday meaning we could walk 3.6 miles stopping for a drink on the way and the mornings without T meaning I could do 1 mile before work with Poppy. The lovely sunny evenings have also contributed massively as there is no way we would have walked 2 miles Wednesday evening before going out to our friends house if it was raining! As the sun continued Thursday it meant we could try a new route with Poppy, well i’ll be honest I was attempting a route we took at walking group a few weeks ago but I ended up going slightly wrong and we discovered Bluebell woods!

It really was a beautiful little walk and at 3.5 miles it is definitely somewhere we will go again, although hopefully next time Poppy wont end up so dirty!

Friday I walked with my walking group and with a record 23 of us this week they decided to just do a loop and walk back to our starting point instead of stopping half way for a rest. It was again a walk I hadn’t done before and I ended up chatting to quite a few people I hadn’t spoken to before also which was really nice. Another over 3 miles down.

Today I had my girl back so after a Mother/Daughter shopping trip to spend her hard earned pocket money on some new clothes for summer and stopping for a Costa as a treat we decided to take Poppy out for a little walk. T took her bike which meant I was able to get her much further than if she had walked, we explored our local woods much further than she has ever been before going down steps, up hills and along a river and finally coming out at the next village along Alwalton. We completed our loop home and brought in a 2.8 mile walk!

All this coupled with some little walks with Poppy has taken me over the 17 mile mark, I know this is in a whole week but from walking 2 maybe 3 miles a week with Poppy this is a huge jump and something I feel pretty proud of! Next week school and work return in full so there is no way I will be able to keep this mileage up but I intend to get miles in where I can and carry on upping my fitness ready for our summer trip to the Peak District.

Have a great week everyone! 

2 thoughts on “17.23 miles in a week of beautiful walks

    1. Oh yes she loved getting completely filthy, not so sure how much she enjoyed a quick dunk in the river before we headed home because we were so worried she was going to jump up at someone covered in mud! Its lovely, as long as its dry i’m finding I just really love walking her lately.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

