Ballet · hobbies · motherhood · Uncategorized · walking · walking for fitness

16 miles, a ballet exam and a happy girl.

So this week was another tough one at the start with lots of short walks due to bad weather but I made up for it as much as I could on my days off racking up 6 miles yesterday! It felt so nice to walk a different route and actually get a tiny bit lost at times. I knew roughly where I was all the time but trying to find the exact way home was a little challenge that I think I needed to push myself to rack up the miles. Throw in a short walk with Tiana and Poppy this afternoon and my weekly total is 16.2 miles! 

I’m so pleased I’m well on my way to my target of 60 miles this month with just over a week to go so if next week is a good one I might even break 60 miles! Still can’t believe how much I’m enjoying walking, It’s not costing me anything, I’m building my fitness and I’m still finding new routes from my house. I feel so lucky to live where I do with so many nice paths to explore all within my reach.

This morning was also very exciting because T had a ballet exam that she had been preparing for a long time. I felt like I should be part of dance moms being up at 7am on a Sunday to plait and clip her hair into the neatest, most hairsprayed ballet bun possible! T is too small to be nervous yet which is great so we just get one excited little girl ready to try her best for the examiner! There was a group of 3 and they all had solo parts also but all in all the whole thing only took about 10 minutes at the most. The best part was when they all came out smiling ear to ear really happy with their performances. Some people would wonder why I would want to give up my Sunday morning to put T through an exam at only 7 years old but that is why  because she loves it! She was so happy after her performance and so pleased with how she had done there was no stress or anxiety and not a single hint of worry. Some people may say that she will never be a ballerina but neither will a lot of the girls that go to her dance school but for me it’s not about that. It’s about a hobby that she enjoys learning and having fun doing and as long as she wants to continue ballet I will continue to give up my Sunday morning lie ins to ready her for exams.

My little ballerina
Ballet bun hairsprayed within an inch of its life!
One thought on “16 miles, a ballet exam and a happy girl.

Leave a Reply

