Family · making memories · motherhood · Parenting · Uncategorized

Why the build up to our holiday is so bittersweet

Now we are down to under a week until our holiday we are all feeling ready. Ready for adventure, sunshine, a pool and a beach and most of all just ready to be together. 

We love spending time together as a family more than anything else in the world. Making happy memories and building a childhood for T is what our days off and time together is all about. The work Scott does means this time is even more precious because usually public holidays and fun family events like Halloween, Easter, and every weekend he has to work. We are used to this routine now and use this time to have all the more fun Mummy and T days, but when she knows Scott will be off too she gets super excited. It’s amazing for me to see the bond they have now, it’s like a love that has grown over the years they have known each other and is now blossoming into something long lasting and wonderful.

Now as we are going away for a week with her it was only fair she see her Dad for 2 nights this weekend instead of one. Not only that but then Monday and Tuesday night too, Just so he gets to spend lots of time with her before we go. 

So Sunday night T will be home for a big family bbq, she will have friends to play with and the house will be busy and full. Monday morning I will take her to school and I won’t see that gorgeous little face again until Wedsnesday evening after work.

Now this was all my idea so what am I feeling so sad about? 

This is the right thing to do.

We have to share, she enjoys going and spending time there so this is good for her too.

All this is true but it still doesn’t mean I will miss her any less. She has been away with him for a week before and it hurt like hell but it was made better by the fact I knew she was enjoying herself. I think this is worse because I know she will only be at school during the day. I think I just need to focus on getting ready for the holiday and fitting in as many workouts as I can to feel as good about myself as possible before I go. Walking Poppy will help as a distraction too as I will still walk her in the mornings like I would do on a normal school day. 

I just need to think once I have that little body back in my arms she is ours all ours for a whole week and then the fun can really begin.