Adult braces · Changes · Dentist · goals · Orthodontist · Uncategorized

Adult Braces- 8 months in

So today I had my 6 week tightening and at first it all seemed like it was going fairly straightforward but then my lovely orthodontist started taking an awfully long time to look at my top teeth. She was swivelling her chair from behind me to the front and back, moving my lips up and down, getting me to bite and open again and again. 

She eventually decided to add a chain link across my gap on the right side to pull my tooth across into the space. She told me I might see a small gap appear from where the tooth moves from but not to worry as she will sort it.

She was pleased with how much my bottom teeth had moved forward but still can’t include my last bottom one that isn’t in the wire,  fingers crossed for next time!

Also next time she is going to take off a couple of brackets and move them to a slightly different position as she wants to pull the teeth straighter. I’m a little nervous about this as I’ve not had a bracket off yet, I’m hoping they will just use the same light they used when they put them on and they will pop right off! The only thing is if she has to move a bracket she will have to put a soft wire in for a month as new brackets won’t be strong enough to hold a stiff one. This basically means my treatment is on hold for a month until the brackets are ready to start getting pulled all over the place again. It’s a bit of a frustration but if that’s what it takes to get my teeth as straight as possible I know my ortho will know what is best.

So after a slightly longer appointment than normal there should be some more movement by the next time and more chain links to come over my other gaps so they will start to disappear too. It’s a slow process but the small differences I see each time is what keeps me motivated.

Leave a Reply

